Residence Permit Renewal – Part 1

I’ve just been down to the KVR to renew my German residence permit. Since I’ll have been here for 5 years when the current one runs out, I decided to go for the unlimited one. Here are a few things that I found out:

  1. They won’t give you an unlimited one until you’ve been here a full five years. So if you’re “fleißig” like me, and go there a week in advance, you still have to wait anyway.
  2. You need to take 2 passport photos. This is because they will issue a brand new permit, rather than just putting an extra stamp on the current one.
  3. For unlimited permits, they have to do a background check to make sure you’re not a terrorist. This takes around 1 week. So if you’re “fleißig” like me, and go there a week in advance, you still have to wait anyway.
  4. You have to take a copy of your apartment rental contract and your last payslip (your employment contract isn’t enough).
  5. On the KVR website it says the renewal costs €25 (5 year) or €61 (unlimited). This doesn’t apply to EU citizens – we pay nothing at all.

To dispell a couple of myths that go around:

  1. I got there at 7:40 and only waited 10 minutes before I got called in. That would be at 7:50, 10 minutes before the official opening time.
  2. The lady who dealt with me was friendly. She offered me the unlimited permit straight away, and was happy to answer all my questions. I did not have to sign in my own blood, or promise the soul of my first-born.

And finally, a couple of questions that I’m going to ask when I go back to finalise the renewal:

  1. (For Allen) – There is a section on the form for periods of time spent living outside Germany. Does this affect the renewal?
  2. (For Shamim) – What’s the penalty for living here 8 years without renewing the permit?

This has been a public service announcement.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Residence Permit Renewal – Part 1”

  1. Marcus Says:

    Because I’m also working in an foreigners office, I try to answer your questions. I’m working not for the city of Munich but for the “Landkreis” (County?) of Munich.

    1. If you lived outside of Germany for more than six months at one time your residence permit will expire and the period of 5 years will start from the beginning.

    2. As a british citizen (like all other citizens from the EU) you won’t get any penalty for staying without a residence permit. In fact the residence permit for EU citizens is just a paper that proofs your rights – which you have by law -as an EU citizens. There are no more sanctions for having no residence permit.

    If you have more questions, don’t hesitate to contact me.

  2. G*ry Says:

    I dare Sham to submit his “Sean the Sheep” picture for his renewal. We’ll see if the Germans have a sense of humour or not. I guess we can all go and see him in jail as well.

  3. A Pedant Says:

    Actually, the KVR opens at 7:30 on Fridays. So you weren’t dealt with before opening time.

Comments are closed.