First Taste of Sushi

I took so many photos during my trip to Japan that I’ve decided to go through them as and when I have time, and post them as several entries on the website. This will be the first entry.

After a relatively long flight (MUC->FRA->NRT->FUK) I arrived at my host’s house in Fukuoka around lunchtime for my first taste of real Japanese Sushi – a “Chirashi-zushi lunchbox“, which was ordered from a local shop and delivered to the door in a typical japanese style wooden box.

The meal consisted of Tai (Sea Bream), Ika (Squid), Maguro (Tuna), Amaebi (Sweet Shrimp), and Tako (Octopus) served on a bed of rice and egg, with the usual wasabi, soy sauce, and pickled ginger.

Chirashi-zushi lunchbox

I don’t usually eat much fish at all, never mind raw fish, so I was a bit apprehensive about eating sushi, but I found I was able to eat the whole meal and still have an appetite for more. The quality of the fish was amazing – much better than any sushi I’ve eaten in Munich, even at the expensive places like Kaito and Duke.

It turns out it’s not as common to eat sushi as I expected it would be, so I only ended up eating it on one more occasion, in a running sushi bar. Photos of that, and other eating experiences, will appear on the website later.

Coming up:

  • Staying in a Capsule Hotel
  • Visiting the Dazaifu Tenmangu Shrine
  • A trip to Busan in South Korea
  • Visiting the Atomic Bomb Museum and Memorial in Nagasaki
  • Eating barbequeued eels in Yanagawa
  • Hot springs in Unzen
  • Asakusa and the Imperial Palace Garden in Tokyo
  • …and a few other bits & pieces
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

