Would you like rice with that?

I took this picture of rice growing in a field behind some houses when I was in Kurume last October. It was the first time I’d seen rice plants up close.

Rice

I like rice, but after living here for 7 months and eating it almost every day, sometimes twice a day, I’m starting to get sick of the sight of it.

I’m sure there are people here that eat it for their breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Probably inbetween meals too, if they like to have an Onigiri in the afternoon.

Lucky we brought a few kilos of pasta with us.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Would you like rice with that?”

  1. ThePenguin Says:

    Plain white rice every day would get a bit boring, though it’s possible to liven it up a bit.

    What I really miss is bread, particularly German-style stuff. There are some good bakeries around but thin on the ground and expensive.

  2. David Says:

    Don’t get me started on the bread.

    Why can’t you buy sliced bread in packs of more than 8 slices?

    And what’s with “Igirisu Pan”? I’ve certainly never seen anything like that in England. At least “Fransu Pan” bears some resemblance to a French baguette.

    There’s a bakery at Nippori station called “Backhaus” and I thought I’d be able to get some German bread there. But it’s not actually German, unfortunately.

  3. ThePenguin Says:

    After reading your comment yesterday I had a dream last night about going to my local Bäckerei.. Yes, I noticed the stylish-looking “Tokyo Backhaus” at Nippori when in a hurry on the way to Narita a couple of months back, and made a mental note to check it out some time in the hope that if I take the Yamanote the other way round on my way home maybe I could secure a regular supply of something resembling proper bread. Of course, when I finally looked in, there was the usual white franco-mayonnaise-inspired selection.

    Genuine German-style bakeries do actually exist, I came across one once, albeit with half-sized products.

  4. jturningpin Says:

    As the ignorant ‘Merican with the spicy food fetish, I miss the big fat demi-baguettes smothered in cheese and jalapenos I used to get back in the States. Aaah…

    And I’m pretty darn sick of rice myself. Most of the time I opt against eating it altogether, but if I do, I spice it up with some furikake or something. Waaay too much emphasis on rice here for my taste.

Leave a Reply

