Asahi “Munich-Type” black beer

Recently I’ve been trying to find a shop that sells this Asahi Stout bottled beer but it’s proving to be quite elusive.

While I was in my local supermarket I came across this “Munich-type” black beer, which is also by Asahi. It was right next to the Kirin Stout that I found last week so I’m surprised I hadn’t seen it before.

Asahi Munich-Type Black Beer

Taste-wise I’d say it’s pretty much the same as the Kirin, but with a slightly bitterer taste. I don’t think either of them are quite as good as a real Munich Dunkelbier, but I’ll probably buy them again.

Note: Wikipedia has a convenient list of Japanese beers to avoid. Who the hell came up with the idea of brewing beer with soy protein instead of malt? The mind boggles.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Asahi “Munich-Type” black beer”

  1. john turningpin Says:

    You should see if you can find the Tokyo Black Porter I mentioned previously. It’s really good stuff. Just had some this past weekend, actually. If Lion Stout is Lando Calrissian, smooth and dashing, then Tokyo Black Porter is Han Solo, a little rough around the edges but just as tasty.

    Hm. That post made it sound almost as if I caught teh gay. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

    Like the (now-defunct?) Kirin Stout, the bottled Asahi Stout is a different beast from the canned Asahi Black mentioned in this post. The bottled one has a lot more character, as well as a stronger ABV.

  2. David Says:

    Yeah, I’ve been keeping an eye out for the Black Porter and Lion Stout too. No luck yet though.

  3. Pukako Says:

    Blame stupid tax laws for the Happoshu, and Japanese women…

    But most countries have the alcohol content of their ‘mainstream’ beers closely controlled by the tax or excise levels set…

    Went on a tour of a Sapporo Factory, near Sendai, late 2008, and they only had their ‘raw’ beer on tap, which they apologised for – best beer I’ve tasted in Japan, and managed to fit five glasses in, in the 15 minutes tasting. Not too smart at 10:30 AM…

  4. tokyo5 Says:

    Personally, I don’t think 発泡酒 (Happoushu) are bad.

    Because there’s no “beer tax”, they’re much less expensive. And many taste quite good (in my opinion).

    I drink Happoushu just as often as I drink beer.

  5. David Says:

    I must admit, I’ve found that during the summer a Happousho goes down quite well in a glass full of ice.

Leave a Reply

