Asahi Ginger Draft is not ginger beer

I saw this Ginger Draft in the supermarket at the weekend, and bought it thinking that it might be something like ginger beer.

Asahi Ginger Draft

Rather disappointingly, it isn’t – it’s just another Happoshu. And more disappointingly, it doesn’t even taste of ginger.

I need to memorise the kanji for Happoshu (発泡酒) to make sure I don’t inadvertently buy it again.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Asahi Ginger Draft is not ginger beer”

  1. jturningpin Says:

    I think the Ginger Draft isn’t so bad as far as happoshu goes…but that’s like saying, “This crap isn’t so bad as far as crap goes.”

    That being said, though, 発泡酒 is defined by malt content, so sometimes you’ll find some import brews that are labelled 発泡酒 but are actually pretty nice, and far removed from the urine-inspired Japan 発泡酒. The only example I can think of off the top of my head is the Belgian White at the underground supermarket at Ikebukuro Stations, but I’ve seen others.

  2. David Says:

    True, it wasn’t too bad. Better than the Nodogoshi, at least.

    BTW, do you have any idea where to find a real Ginger Beer in Tokyo? By “real” I mean the stuff that burns your throat.

    Canada Dry is widely available, and I’ve been using that as an ersatz, but it’s nothing like the proper stuff…

  3. Land Brauerei Echigo-Bräu Premium Beer Pilsner « :: mdid :: Says:

    […] Either way, it’s a pretty good beer, and it more than made up for the disappointment of the not-Ginger-Beer Ginger Draft. […]

  4. jturningpin Says:

    >BTW, do you have any idea where to find a real Ginger Beer in Tokyo?

    If you mean the alcoholic variety, my closet. 🙂 Got a fermenter of the stuff going on right now; not a ginger-infused beer, but a ginger-based alcohol that I’ll be bottle-carbonating in a couple more weeks. If you mean the non-alcoholic stuff, it’s easy enough to make yourself. This guy gives step-by-step instructions, complete with photos: http://biology.clc.uc.edu/fankhauser/Cheese/Ginger_Ale_Ag0.htm

  5. David Says:

    Thanks. I’ll have to give that a try, when I have some time…

  6. john turningpin Says:

    In terribly bad form, got curious and took a couple sips from the fermenter last night. Hmph, the lemon flavors seem to have been overwhelmed again. Can’t say I noticed much of a difference substituting brown sugar for white this time either. Only my second try though, so I’m looking forward to attempt number three. 🙂

Leave a Reply

