Gingakougen Wheat Beer

Gingakougen Wheat Beer

I’d seen this beer in the supermarket a few times but only this past weekend bothered to figure out ask the wife what it says on the can.

Turns out it’s a wheat beer “with yeast”. If I’d known that before I’d’ve grabbed one sooner.

It’s more like a Hoegaarden than a Franziskaner, but definitely one to add to the list.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Gingakougen Wheat Beer”

  1. jturningpin Says:

    Ginga Kogen is good stuff. They’ve actually begun exporting it to the States.

    If you can find it in the bottle, grab it; I find the bottled version to be even tastier. If you pass through Ikebukuro Station, you can find it in the snooty underground supermarket.

  2. David Says:

    Thanks, I’ll keep an eye out for the bottled version.

    Unfortunately Ikebukuro is not on my commute route, so I don’t pass through often. What’s the name of the supermarket? Maybe there’s one on my route or near my apartment.

  3. jturningpin Says:

    Actually, I don’t remember what it’s called. Haven’t been in there in a while. I’ll check next time I’m doing the ol’ commute. It’ll give me an excuse to see if they’ve got any of the bottled variety in stock. 🙂

  4. Homebrew Japan Says:

    Ginga Kogen is good. If you’ve not tried it already, make sure you try Hitachino Nest White Ale – it’s on sale in Yamaya, Tanakaya and on draft at What The Dicken’s in Ebisu and (I think) Beer Rock in Shimo Kitazawa.

    You MUST get to Tanakaya in Mejiro if you love beer. It’s a beer lover’s dream. It’s listed in my Tokyo’s Best Bars blog post: http://homebrewjapan.beerinjapan.com/tokyos-best-bars/

  5. David Says:

    Found the bottled version of Gingakougen in the supermarket near my new apartment. It does seem to taste a bit nicer than the canned version.

Leave a Reply

