Japan visa renewal does not include re-entry permit renewal

When I renewed my visa I naively assumed that it included an extension of the re-entry permit.

I didn’t find out that this is not the case until I was at Narita airport going through passport control.

Passport control officer: “So, you’re not coming back to Japan?”
Me: “Of course I’m coming back, I’m only going on vacation.”
Passport control officer: “So where’s your re-entry permit? This is expired.”
Me: “Here it is look, I renewed it in April.” *points to the new visa*
Passport control officer: “This is your visa. You also need a new re-entry permit!”
Me: %$!*

Luckily they issued one at the airport, but only for a single entry. I have to go back to the immigration centre to get a new multiple re-entry permit.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Japan visa renewal does not include re-entry permit renewal”

  1. Tim Says:

    David, I find myself in a similar situation and will be getting a flight later today! Do you happen to remember the name of the counter you went to for the one time stamp?

  2. Tim Says:

    Figured this out but your blog was certainly reassuring for the nerves.

  3. David Says:

    I don’t remember what the counter is actually called, but it’s right beside the passport control booths.

    Bear in mind that they will only issue a re-entry permit once. If you forget again they’ll refuse to issue it, so you have to either miss your flight or risk not being able to get back in.

Leave a Reply

