Rakuten spam

Rakuten newsletters (spam) (excerpt)

I recently bought something online from Rakuten and in addition to the usual order confirmation emails they also sent me a spammy “newsletter” mail.

Mildly annoying, but “No problem,” I thought, “I’ll just unsubscribe from it”. So I clicked on the “配信先の変更・停止はこちら” link, entered my email address, hit the confirmation button, and thought that would be the end of it.

But no, then I got another one. And another one. And another one.

It turns out they have literally dozens of different spamshots newsletters, and the “unsubscribe” link only works for that particular one, not all of them. It took almost a week before I found the link to the page where you can switch all of them off.

Full screenshot here. Unbelievable.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Rakuten spam”

  1. David Says:

    Despite having all the options set to “off” I still got a couple more today.

  2. Haikugirl Says:

    I had the same problem. I just tell my Gmail that it’s spam now and it goes straight to my spam box! 😉

  3. ThePenguin Says:

    I’ve had some interactions professionally with people who work in Rakuten’s IT bits, and “dysfunctional” is a word which would describe their setup pretty well.

  4. David Says:

    And I’m still getting them.

    I used a unique email address when I signed up, so I’ve now added a new filter that sends them all straight to the trash can.

    Just need to remember to disable it if/when I order something from them again.

  5. Greg Says:

    As far as I can tell, Rakuten is nothing but a spam merchant. I was signed up as a seller with Rakuten and never sold a thing. The only difference it made is that I immediately became inundated with all kinds of spam, not just Rakuten spam.

Leave a comment